About the PI

jennpenn Jennifer E. Phillips-Cremins, Ph.D. is a newly-arrived (January 2014) Assistant Professor of Bioengineering at the University of Pennsylvania. During her Ph.D. candidacy at Georgia Institute of Technology, Dr. Cremins was funded by a National Science Foundation Graduate Research Fellowship to develop transcription factor-based genetic engineering strategies for the direct conversion of dermal fibroblasts into mature bone cells. She was then funded by an NIH National Research Service Award to conduct a unique multi-disciplinary postdoc that simultaneously spanned three institutions and four independent laboratories with the goal of generating the first high-resolution 3-D genome architecture maps in mouse embryonic stem cells.

Dr. Cremins now runs the 3-D Epigenomics and Systems Neurobiology laboratory at UPenn. Her lab focuses on understanding the epigenetic mechanisms that govern phenotype commitment in healthy neurons and how these epigenetic mechanisms go awry during the onset of neurodegenerative diseases. She runs a quantitative wet lab that employs both state-of-the-art molecular and bioinformatics tools to map and study epigenetic modifications and higher-order genome folding in a genome-wide manner. Current work is focused on understanding the epigenetic mechanisms that regulate the differentiation of embryonic stem cells into neurons and the reprogramming of healthy and diseased neurons in the reverse direction back into induced pluripotent stem cells. The long-term goal of the Cremins lab is to engineer and manipulate chromatin architecture to control cellular phenotype for regenerative medicine and neurodegenerative disease treatment applications.


2018 Kavli Frontiers of Science Fellow 2018
2016 Kavli Frontiers of Science Fellow 2016
2015-2020 NIH New Innovator Award
2015 Albert P. Sloan Foundation Fellow
2015-2020 New York Stem Cell Foundation – Robertson Investigator
2012 Keystone Future of Science Award, Keystone Symposia on Epigenomics & Chromatin
2009-2012 Ruth S. Kirschstein F32 National Research Service Award
2003-2007 Presidential Fellowship, Georgia Institute of Technology
2003-2006 National Science Foundation Graduate Fellowship